Home

> Cultural Discovery Line

> Yau Ma Tei

Yau Ma Tei

Yau Ma Tei

Barrier-free Index

Full of authentic feelings in Yau Ma Tei, you can find many of Hong Kong's old days of development. Yau Ma Tei has many buildings of historical value, such as the Yau Ma Tei fruit bar, red brick house and Tin Hau Temple. Temple Street, known as the "civilian nightclub", is one of the must-see places to visit Yau Ma Tei.

 

(Last updated: 27/8/2018)


Kowloon Wholesale Fruit Market(Yau Ma Tei Wholesale Fruit Market)

Kowloon Wholesale Fruit Market	(Yau Ma Tei Wholesale Fruit Market)

Yau Ma Tei Fruit Market is the fruit distribution hub in Kowloon. In the past, the fruit market is primary designed for wholesale business, tut nowadays there are also retail businesses. You get to see tons of fruit stores with heaps of colorful fruits in various sizes. The rich fruit aroma makes you understand why this is the place where so many people come for to buy the best quality fruits from around the world.

Easy-to-Reach Index: star star star star    Accessible Toilet Provided Accessible Toilet Provided
Barrier Free Index: star star   
Recommendation Index: star star star star  

Suggested Length of Stay:

Approx 30minutes 

       
Address: Waterloo Road, Yau Ma Tei


Kowloon Wholesale Fruit Market	(Yau Ma Tei Wholesale Fruit Market)

Originally established in 1913, it was merely a grass shack at the beginning. Merchants started to renovate the whole area into brick and stone buildings as hoist look like now. The complex has been classified as a Grade II Historic Building in 2009. Visitors from around the world not only come here for fruits, photography enthusiasts also come here to capture pictures of such a icon compound with important historic and culture value.

 

Tips:

There is no accessible toilet in the fruit market. Wheelchair users can use the public accessible toilet on Shanghai Street and Waterloo Road.


Comment

Comment:

The Fruit Market is always flooded with people with narrow passageway.  There are always people pushing trolleys around. Extra precautions is required for wheelchair users. Wheelchairs users need to make a detour as there are no ramps in some parts of the fruit market.

 

Getting here

Bus:

Bus Route Origin<-->Destination Agitating Station
10 Choi Wan → Tai Kok Tsui (Circular Route)  Shanghai Street

 

MTR:

Yau Ma Tei Station

Exit B2 (Exit B1 for wheelchair users)

After exit, walk along Waterloo Road in the direction of Shanghai Street, and you will arrive the Fruit Market in 5 to 10 minutes. 

 

Red Brick Building

Red Brick Building

There are multiple historical building other than the Fruit Market in Yau Ma Tei. In fact, on the way to the fruit market, you get to see two historical buildings that are dated before World War II: the Red Brick Building and Yau Ma Tei Theatre.

The Red Brick Building was originally the engineer office of the old water pumping station on Shanghai Street built in 1895. It is the oldest existing water pumping architecture owned by Water Supplies Department. The pumping station ceased operation in 1911 and the only part of the building that was retained is the Red Brick Building. It is listed as Grade I Historic Building. The features in this building include the red walls, cast iron rainwater pipes, cast iron water funnels, arched gangway and granite components.


Adress: 8 Waterloo Road, Kowloon

 

Yau Ma Tei Theatre

Yau Ma Tei Theatre

Built in 1930, Yau Ma Tei Theatre is the only existing theatre in the city that dates back before World War II. The features of the building include the pillars at its front entrance, Chinese-style sloping roof, front surfaces and gables with art deco features, the steel trusses and wooden purlins that support the roofs, as well as the arched gates and sidewalls of the stage.

Listed as Grade II Historic Building, the theatre is revitalized together with the nearby Red Brick Building. They were converted into a performing arts venue and logics centre for promoting Chinese opera. The theatre was reopened in mid-July in 2012 and has 4 seats for wheelchair users. Wheelchair users can also traditional Chinese opera.

Adress: 6 Waterloo Road, Kowloon

Websitewww.lcsd.gov.hk/tc/ymtt/index.html

Broadway Cinematheque

Broadway Cinematheque

After visiting Temple Street, walk along Reclamation Street in the direction of Public Square Street before turning to Dongguan Street and you will arrive at the Broadway Cinematheque.

Opened in 1996, Broadway Cinematheque is a special movie landscape, as most of the movies screened are not the mainstream movies. It regularly holds special screenings, movie festivals and film festivals. It becomes the common ground for movie fans. Except movie theatres, there are boutique stores at Broadway Cinematheque that sells books, coffee and DVDs. It is definitely a place for a lazy weekends for movie fans. 

Adress:Prosperous Garden, 3 Public Square Street, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon

Phone: 2388 0002

Websitebc.cinema.com.hk

Temple Street

Temple Street

Temple Street, which is near Tin Hau Temple, is known for night market where visitors can find affordable products. There are hundreds of stores open for business, mostly selling products for men such as men’s clothing, fountain pens, watches and electronics, thus earning its nickname “Men Street”. There are quite a lot of stands where vendors read your face and tell your fortunes. Sometimes there are even traditional Cantonese drama, Cantonese pop music events, and western pop music events, which gives Temple Street another nickname, “Disco for the Common People”. 

There are also restaurants selling local snacks, seafood and clay pot rice bowl. With reasonable price and delicious food are what attract local residents and visitors from abroad.

Easy-to-Reach Index: star star star star star     
Barrier Free Index: star   
Recommendation Index: star star star star  

Suggested Length of Stay:

Approx 30minutes-1hours 

       
Address: Temple Street, Yau Ma Tei, Kowloon

Tips:

There is no accessible toilet on Temple Street. Wheelchair users are advised to use the accessible toilets at the public toilet on Market Street by Tin Hau Temple or at Henry G. Leong Yaumatei Community Centre.

Comment:

Despite its insufficient barrier-free facilities, the roads are relative wide during daytime due to fewer crowds, which should not be too much of a problem for wheelchair users. However, visitors should be aware that in the evening, crowds start to gather as it is the time for business.

 

Getting here

MTR:    
Yau Ma Tei Station  

Exit C (Exit B1 for wheelchair users)

 

For wheelchair users, exit the station and move along Waterloo Road in the direction of Jordan before turning into Man Ming Lane and you will arrive at Temple Street in 5 minutes. 

 

Tin Hau Temple

Tin Hau Temple

This is the largest Tin Hau Temple in Kowloon. Yau Ma Tei used to be a coastal area in the past. Despite land reclamation meant that its residents no longer lived on fishing, residents continues to worship the Guardian of the Sea, Tin Hau. The Tin Hau Temple has a history over one hundred years and has been listed as Grade 1 Historic Building which carries important historical value. However there are staircase at its entrance, wheelchair users can only pay their visit in front of the temple.

Address: 56-58 Temple Street, Yau Ma Tei

↑Go to top

網站主頁

> 文物探知線

> 油麻地

油麻地

油麻地

無障礙指數

充滿地道情懷的油麻地,遊覽其中可以找到不少香港舊日發展的足跡,油麻地擁有不少富歷史價值的建築,如逾百年歷史的油麻地果欄、紅磚屋和天后古廟等。而有「平民夜總會」之稱的廟街更是遊覽油麻地必到的地方之一。

(最後更新日期: 2018年8月27日)

九龍水果批發市場 (油麻地果欄)

九龍水果批發市場 (油麻地果欄)

「油麻地果欄」是提供九龍區水果的主要集散地,昔日的油麻地果欄以批發為主,不過現在亦會做零售生意。走進果欄,看到的是一家又一家的水果店,擺滿了不同大小色彩鮮艷的生果,濃郁的果香撲鼻而來,你自然會明白到為甚麼會有這麼多人會特意前來選購各國優質水果。

易達指數: star star star star     Accessible Toilet 設有暢通易達洗手間 
無障礙指數: star star   
推介指數 : star star star star                                                      

 遊覽時間:

 約30分鐘 

                                                    
地址:油麻地窩打老道

九龍水果批發市場 (油麻地果欄)

果欄初建於1913年,當時只是以草棚搭建,其後商家逐漸興建多幢磚石建築樓房,形成今天的面貌,這個建築群並於2009年法定評為香港二級歷史建築。中外遊客除了來果欄購買水果外,亦吸引了不少攝影發燒友到來拍攝這個極具歷史文化意義的建築群組。

 

小貼士:

果欄內並沒有殘疾人士洗手間,有需要的朋友可以使用位於上海街及窩打老道位界的公共洗手間。

短評

短評:

果欄的遊客人流很多,且路面並不算寬闊,加上不時會有搬貨的手推車經過,故輪椅使用者到果欄遊覽時要小心。果欄部份路段欠缺下斜路緣,輪椅使用者或需要繞道前行。

 

交通

巴士:

巴士路線 起點 <-->終點 下車站 
 10  彩雲 → 大角咀(循環線)  上海街

港鐵:

油麻地站

 

B2出口(輪椅使用者B1出口) 

出站後沿窩打老道往上海街方向步行約5-10分鐘便可到達

 

紅磚屋

紅磚屋

除了果欄外,油麻地亦有不少歷史建築。在前往果欄的路程中,你便可看到兩座戰前歷史建築物紅磚屋和油麻地戲院。

紅磚屋原為上海街舊抽水站的工程師辦公室,於1895年落成,是香港水務署現存最古老的抽水站建築物。抽水站於1911年停止運作,只有紅磚屋部份被保留,現被評為一級歷史建築。建築物具有的特徵元素包括紅牆立面、鑄鐵雨水管、鑄鐵收水斗、拱形遊廊及花崗石構件。


地址:九龍窩打老道8

油麻地戲院

油麻地戲院

油麻地戲院於1930年落成,是市區碩果僅存的戰前戲院。建築物具有的特徵元素包括正門入口兩旁門柱、中式鈄()屋頂和具裝飾藝術主義的正立面及山牆、支撐屋頂的鋼桁架及木檁條,以及原有舞台的拱門和側牆。

戲院被列作第二級歷史建築物,與紅磚屋一起分別被活化為傳統曲藝表演中心及後勤基地,於20127月月中重開。劇院觀眾席設有4個方便輪椅使用者位置,方便輪椅使用者觀賞傳統劇曲。

地址:九龍窩打老道6

網址:www.lcsd.gov.hk/tc/ymtt/index.html


百老匯電影中心

百老匯電影中心

離開廟街後,沿新填地街往眾坊街方向往前行,轉入東莞街

於1996年開業,以播放非主流電影為主的百老匯電影中心是香港另類電影文化地標,定期舉行特別放映、電影節、影展等,成為了香港影迷的聚腳地。除了欣賞電影外,電影中心設有精品店售賣圖書、咖啡及影碟,影迷們可在此渡過悠閒的一天。

地址:九龍油麻地眾坊街3號駿發花園

電話:2388 0002

網址:bc.cinema.com.hk

廟街

廟街

鄰近天后廟的廟街以售賣平價貨的夜市而聞名,廟街每逢傍晚,數百個地攤小販開始營業,場面熱鬧非常。因大部份攤販所售買的商品以售買男性用品為主,如男士服飾、鋼筆、腕錶和電子產品等,故又有「男人街」之稱。天后廟外有不少看相算命的攤檔,有時候附近還會有傳統粵劇、廣東流行曲,甚至西方流行曲表演,所以廟街又被稱為「平民夜總會」。

除此之外,廟街內也有不少富有香港本土特色小食和餐廳,如海鮮、煲仔飯等等。由於價錢大眾化,而且口碑不俗,故深受居民以及外地遊客歡迎。

易達指數: star star star star star      
無障礙指數: star    
推介指數 : star star star star                                                        

 遊覽時間:

 30分鐘-1小時 

                                                    
地址:九龍油麻地廟街

小貼士:

廟街沒有殘疾人士洗手間,有需要的朋友可以於進入廟街前,在天后廟旁街市街公廁/梁顯利社區中心的殘疾人士洗手間。

短評:  

雖然廟街的無障礙設施不多,日間的廟街由於人流較少,路面相對寛闊,故相對方便輪椅人士,不過輪椅使用者需要注意廟街攤檔多於傍晚後開始營業,人流開始較多。

 

交通

港鐵  
油麻地站 C出口(輪椅使用者B1出口) 
  輪椅使用者出站後沿窩打老道往佐敦方向往前行,再轉入文明里方步行約5分鐘便可到達

 

天后廟

油麻地天后廟

油麻地天后廟是九龍區最大的天后廟,昔日油麻地屬沿海一帶,儘管經大型填海工程後,居民已不再捕魚為生,但仍舊供奉視為海上守護神的天后娘娘。這座逾百年歷史的天后廟,被評訂為一級歷史建築,極具歷史意義。惟天后廟門前只設樓級,輪椅使用者只能在廟前參觀。

地址:油麻地廟街56-58

↑回頁首