Home

> Cultural Discovery Line

> Central District (II)

Central District (II)

Central District (II)

Barrier-free Index

Central is a very special place in Hong Kong, with brand-new designed skyscrapers and hundred-year historical buildings in the district. Other than the route introduce in the previous chapter, this route will start from Sheung Wan to several historic buildings in Central District.

(Last updated: 9/8/2018)

Enlarge map

Enlarge map

Traffic

MTR  
 Sheung Wan Station  Exit E3 (Public Lift)

Western Market

After visitors exit at A1/E3 of Sheung Wan MTR Station, go along Des Voeux Road Central towards Morrison Street will arrive at Western Market in about ten minutes. Western Market is formerly the old Western Market North Block built in 1906. The structure is of British Edwardian architectural design with exterior covered with red bricks. It is the former site of the Harbour Office Headquarter later rebuilt into the market. In 1990, Western Market is declared a historical monument. Being the oldest surviving market building in Hong Kong, nowadays, most shops in Western Market are cloth shops relocated from the then Cloth Alley (current site of The Centre). At the top floor is a reminiscent restaurant, „The Grand Stage‟ of British style interior renovation.

 

Accessible Toilet Accessible Toilet Provided

 

Address: 323 Des Voeux Road Central, Sheung Wan

Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street)

Follow Morrison Street towards Sheung Wan Municipal Services Building will reach Queen’s Road Central, turn right will soon see Possession Street, then go up to Hollywood Road. Once reach Hollywood Road, proceed towards Man Mo Temple. Turn into the next street after Lok Ku Road which is a small alley Tung Street will soon arrive at Upper Lascar Street, also known as ‘Cat Street’. According to legend, the origin of Cat Street is that at early colonial period when many Indian sailors and soldiers gathered at the place to sell goods, Hong Kong people used to call them “Lascar” which means those Indian or Pakistanis Sikhs wearing a turban, thus giving the street this name. The English name also refers to all Indian soldiers at British colony generally known as „Lascar‟. Cat Street has since 1920 become a trading market for used goods include expensive work of art or other miscellaneous items such as antique electrical appliances, old toys, postcards and posters, and is a good hunting place for people who love reminiscent collectables.

 

Short comment: Distance from Western City to Cat Street is quite far away with considerate number of slanted road of narrow and steep road surface. At certain sections of Hollywood Road, wheelchair users have to use the vehicle drive and should be more cautious.

Man Mo Temple

Having toured Cat Street, follow East Street back to Hollywood Road and proceed towards Ladder Street will arrive at Man Mo Temple. Man Mo Temple is a Grade 1 historical building. It is a Chinese temple at early colonial period permitted by British Government to use Chinese way of „chopping off chicken‟s head and burning yellow paper‟ to take oath and to adjudicate disputes between Chinese people. Nowadays taking oath only needs to raise one‟s hand before the Commissioner for Oaths, but at the early colonial period when Hong Kong‟s judicial system is not mature, the above way of taking oath is considered valid by law, with the condition that such oath-taking has to be administered at Man Mo Temple.

 

Short comment: Man Mo Temple being an old-style structure is having steps in front of the door, which wheelchair users cannot enter. It is suggested that parties concerned can consider providing with movable ramp for wheelchair users to tour inside.

 

Address: No.124-126, Hollywood Road

Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences

First go up Square Street next to Man Mo Temple, turn into Kui In Fong to reach Caine Lane, then pass through the passages of Caine Lane Garden will arrive at the Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences. Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences, a unique institution with medical sciences as theme, is established in 1996 to collect and preserve cultural and historical relics relating to the development of medical sciences in Hong Kong, which is being introduced mainly through literature and exhibits displayed. The Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences is the former Bacteriological Institute established in1906 to cope with the then outbreak of plague. The Institute being Hong Kong‟s first purpose-built medical laboratory initially specialized on research of widespread bacterial diseases, and later undertook the work of vaccine incubation. After World War II, the Bacteriological Institute changed name to Hong Kong Pathological Institute to cover a bigger scope of work. With the „Old Pathological Institute‟ moved to Sai Ying Pun in 1973 and the work of vaccine production relocated, this building is only used as a government storehouse. Till 1990, the building is declared a historical monument by the government, and reopened in 1996 becoming the current site of the Hong Kong Museum of Medical Sciences.


Short comment: The museum is three-storey high without lift on account of its being a monument. Entrance of the museum is with steps, wheelchair users can only watch the part of the exhibits.

 

Address: Caine Lane

Opening Hours and Admission Fee of the Hong Kong Museum of Medical Science

Monday

Closed

Tuesday to Friday

9:30 am – 11:30 am &
12:30 pm – 4:15 pm

Saturday

9:30 am – 2:00 pm

Sunday and Public Holidays

 1 pm to 5 pm

Adults: $20

Children, person aged 60 or above, full-time students and disabled: $10

Tel:2549 5123

Website:www.hkmms.org.hk

Address: 2 Caine Lane, Mid-Levels, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong

NWFB tourist bus

Visitors can take the the NWFB tourist bus route H1 at the Central Star Ferry Pier to visit the Western Market, Man Mo Temple, the old Central Police Station, and the Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall and the other attractions.

Tips

Scenery spots introduce in this route are mostly at Mid-Levels, where visitors are frequently required to go up long and steep road, especially at Possession Street, Kui In Fong and pavement around the Museum of Medical Sciences. Wheelchair users need to be more careful and should plan the itinerary according to their own strength to avoid accident.

↑Go to top

網站主頁

> 文物探知線

> 中區(二)

中區(二)

中區(二)

無障礙指數

中區是香港一個十分特別的地方,區內有嶄新設計的摩天大樓,亦有百年歷史的建築物。除了前一篇介紹的路線,此路線將會介紹大家從上環出發,走進幾個位於中區的歷史建築。

 

(最後更新日期: 2013年5月27日)

放大地圖

放大地圖

交通

港鐵  
上環站   E3 出口 (客用升降機)
 A1 出口 (輪椅輔助車)
殘疾人士洗手間設於付車費區域內

西港城

遊客從上環站A1出口出站後,沿德輔道中往摩利臣街方向前行約10 分鐘便會到達西港城。西港城的前身是舊上環街市北座大樓,大樓建於1906 年,採用英國愛德華式建築風格,全座建築物以紅磚砌成。大樓最初是船政署總部舊址,後來才改建為街市。現時西港城商店多為布行,大多從已遷拆的花布街(中環中心現址)搬遷至西港城內。頂層則有一懷舊酒樓「大舞臺飯店」,內裡裝修保持英式風格,別具特色。

 

短評:西港城內的升降機設於防火門後,但門外沒有清楚指示升降機位置,建議商場可在門外增加升降機和殘疾人士洗手間的指示牌。

「摩囉街」

沿摩利臣街往上環市政大廈方向前行,會到達皇后大道中,然後往右轉,沿皇后大道中前行,便會看見水坑口街,沿水坑口街前行就是荷李活道。到達荷李活道往文武廟方向前行,在樂古道的下一個街口,會有一小巷「東街」,轉入東街後便會到達摩囉上街,亦是「摩囉街」的所在地。「摩囉街」的起源,據說是在香港開埠初期,不少印度水手與士兵喜歡在此聚集擺賣貨品,當時香港人已喜歡把印度人稱為「摩囉差」,摩囉是指用頭巾纏髮,信奉錫克教的印度人和巴基斯坦人,因此這條街便被稱為摩囉街。至於英文名,亦同樣與印度人有關。「Lascar」源指軍隊,其後成為在英國殖民地駐守的印度士兵的統稱。摩囉街自1920年代至1930 年代起,已經是一個舊貨買賣市場。除了出售昂貴的藝術品外,也有其他雜貨,如古董電器、舊玩具、名信片與海報等,是喜愛懷舊物品人士尋寶的好地方。

 

短評:由西港城走至摩囉街的一段路程頗遠,而且途中多為斜路,路面亦狹窄陟斜。在荷李活道某些路段,輪椅使用者需行走車路,要倍加小心。

文武廟

遊畢摩囉街後,沿東街返回荷李活道,向樓梯街方向前行,便會到達文武廟。文武廟是香港開埠早期的中式廟宇及開埠早期於港英政府批准下可以用中國方法進行「斬雞頭,燒黃紙」的宣誓及裁決華人之間的糾紛。文武廟亦為香港一級歷史建築。現在宣誓表示所作供詞並無虛言,祇須在監誓官之前舉手宣誓就可以。在開埠之初,當時香港的法制還未完善,中國人宣誓的方法是燒黃紙及斬雞頭,那時法律承認這種宣誓方法有效,但指定要在文武廟內舉行。

 

短評:文武廟為舊式建築物,門前設有石階,故輪椅使用者未能內進。但有關方面可考慮增設活動斜板,讓輪椅使用者亦能入內參觀。

 

誔慶節日 文昌帝 (農暦二月初三)
  關帝誔 (農暦六月廿四)
  包公誔 (農暦六月初六)
  城隆誔 (農暦五月十一-七月日

香港醫學博物館

從文武廟旁的四方街直上,轉入居賢坊,然後再到達堅巷,通過堅巷花園內的通道,便可到達香港醫學博物館。香港醫學博物館是一所以醫學為主題的專題博物館。它成立於1996 年,館內收集並保存與香港醫學發展有關的文物,主要用文獻及實物展品介紹香港開埠以來的醫科學術的發展歷史。香港醫學博物館前身是成立於1906 年正式啟用的香港細菌學檢驗所,以應付當時流行的鼠疫。檢驗所作為首個香港專為醫學化驗而設的機構,初時對流行細菌病患作專門研究,隨後更堅負起疫苗培植的工作。在二次大戰過後,檢驗所易名為香港病理檢驗所,以涵蓋更大的工作範圍。當「病理檢驗所」遷往西營盤,以及疫苗製造的工作遷離後,這座建築物便一直只作政府倉庫的用途。直至1990 年建築物被香港政府宣佈列為法定古蹟, 並在1996 年重新開放,成為香港醫學博物館的館址。

 

短評:堅巷花園通道位置較為隱蔽,建議有關方面增加清晰標誌。博物館入口有梯級,輪椅使用者只能觀賞部份展覽品。

1. 醫學博物館開放時間及收費

星期一

休館

星期二至星期六 

上午十時至下午五時

星期日及公眾假期

下午一時至下午五時

成人: $10,小童、六十歲以上長者、全日制學生及殘疾人士: $5

* 聖誕前夕及農曆除夕開放時間為上午10 時至下午3 時

電話:2549 5123

網址:www.hkmms.org.hk

2. 新巴觀光巴士

遊客可於中環天星碼頭乘搭新巴觀光巴士路線H1到西港城、文武廟、舊中區警署及孫中山紀念館等景點參觀。

小心呀

此線路所介紹的景點多位於半山區,遊客經常要走上頗斜及長的斜路,尤其是在水坑口街、居賢坊及醫學博物館一帶的路面,輪椅使用者需多加小心,而且應該按照自己的體力編排行程,免生危險。

↑回頁首