Home

> Cultural Discovery Line

> Shatin

Shatin

Shatin

Barrier-free Index

Shatin is the most populated new town in Hong Kong. It is always flooded with people in shopping malls every holiday. Other than shopping centers, there are also varieties of temples and old walled villages in Shatin. This featured tour can allow you to enjoy the cultural heritage in the area.

 

 

(Last updated:24/8/2018)

Enlarge map

Enlarge map

Traffic

MTR        Che Kung Miu Station Exit B (ramp access)

Che Kung Miu

Wheelchair users should exit through Exit B at Che Kung Temple station, cross the road through pedestrian tunnel, walk along the Che Kung Miu Road towards Tai Wai for 5 minutes and you will arrive at Che Kung Temple.

The temple was believed to be built during the Ming Dynasty. At that time, there had been an epidemic around Shatin. It is believed that Che Kung, a military commander of the Song Dynasty has the power to suppress the plagues as recorded in books. That was the reason why they built Che Kung Temple. The epidemic began to stop once the construction was completed. Since then, Che Kung Temple is flooded with worshippers on the birthday of General Che- January 2ndof the Chinese lunar calendar. The current Che Kung Temple was an erected in the 1890s to accommodate the increasing number of worshippers. Believers as well as tourists from all around the world come here and spin the wind fans praying for good luck.

 

 

Easy-to-Reach Index: star star star     Accessible Toilet Provided Accessible Toilet Provided
Barrier Free Index: star star star   
Recommendation Index: star star star   

Suggested Length of Stay:

Approx 15-30minutes

       
Address: 7 Che Kung Miu Road, Tai Wai


Che Kung TempleChe Kung Temple

Comment: 

The front entrance and side entrances have stairs. Wheelchair users can only access through the passageways for cars behind the temple. There is not enough signs of directions. Inside the temple, there are ramps that allow wheelchair users which allow them to visit across the temple, including the main chamber, where in other temples wheelchair users are not allowed access. On both sides of the main chamber there are accessible toilets. However the toilet is stuffed with all sorts of goods on the day of our visit. Wheelchair users can use another accessible toilet located at the basketball court outside the temple.

 

Tips: 

There are four birthdays of Che Kung: January 2nd, March 27th, June 6th, and August 16thin Chinese lunar calendar. The first birthday on January 2ndis the most popular one among worshippers. However, worshippers avoid going on January 2ndbut go on the 3rddue to a belief that going out on that day will cause quarrels, conflicts and misfortunes.

 

Shing Mun River

Shing Mun River

As you leave Che Kung Temple through the tunnel and cross the road, you will see Sing Mun River. Stretching for 7 kilometers, the river starts at Tai Wai and flows past Shatin before emptying into Tolo Harbour. It is quite a large river with attractive scenery. The original function of the river was to serve as flood regulator, but the river is also one of the popular recreational places. There are jogging and biking trails on both sides of the river, it’s a popular place for local residents for training.

Hong Kong Heritage Museum

Hong Kong Heritage Museum

There is giant building with Chinese traditional elements across the Shing Mun River, which is Hong Kong Heritage Museum. Wheelchair users can access the museum directly through the bridge across Shin Mun River.

 

The museum is a comprehensive museum that covers historical, artistic and cultural elements. With an area of around 7,500 square meters, it is the largest museum in Hong Kong. There are 12 exhibition venues, 5 of which are permanent galleries including Jing Yong Gallery, Cantonese Opera Heritage Hall, T. T. Tsui Gallery of Chinese Art, Chao Shao-an Gallery and Children’s Discovery Gallery. The rest thematic galleries regularly host exhibitions with diversified topics. Please visit the official website of the Heritage Museum for more information.

 

 

Easy-to-Reach Index: star star star star    Accessible Toilet Provided Accessible Toilet Provided
Barrier Free Index: star star star star star  
Recommendation Index: star star star star star  

Suggested Length of Stay:

Approx 2-3hours

       
Address: 1 Man Lam Road, Shatin

Comment: 

The museum has elevators that take visitors to all levels with wide hallways. It is also equipped with multiple accessible toilets which make it convenient for wheelchair users.

 

Transport:

 MTR

Che Kung Temple Station

 

Exit A (Exit B for wheelchair users)

Cross the Shing Mun River bridge after exiting the MTR station and walk for 5 minutes.

Bus

Heritage Museum

Bus

 Origin <-->Destination

 

Kowloon Motor Bus

A41

Airport ← → Yu Chui Court

E42

Airport ← → Pok Hong

72A

Tai Wa Stop← →Tai Po Industrial Estate

80M

Kowloon Tong Railway Station← →Sui Wo Court

86

Mei Foo← →Wong Nai Tau

89

Kwun Tong← →Lek Yuen

282

Shatin City Center← →Sun Tin Wai

 


New Town Plaza / Snoopy’s World

After leaving the museum, visitors can walk in the direction of Shatin Park and you will arrive at New Town Plaza. For wheelchair users, use the parking lot elevator at Wai Wah Centre on Shatin Centre Street to get to Wai Wah Shopping Centre; then move along the footbridge to get to New Town Plaza. It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to get to the New Town Plaza from the museum. Wheelchair users are advised to move with caution as there are pedestrian tunnels and several roads to cross. It is expected to be crowds of people after turning into Shatin Centre Street with a narrow street.

 

Snoopy’s World at New Town Plaza offers free entry all year round, and it is the first amusement park in Asia based on the theme of Snoopy. At Snoopy’s World, there are sculptures of more than 60 characters from the Peanuts Comics all over the park. This is the dream place for Snoopy fans. The park has wide passageways despite some facilities with stairs which are not suitable for wheelchair users.

 

Address:18 Shatin Centre Street, Shatin

Tsang Tai Uk

Tsang Tai Uk

For those interested in walled villages of Hong Kong, you must never miss the largest existing Hakka walled village in Hong Kong- Tsang Tai Uk. To get there, go back from Hong Kong Heritage Museum to Che Kung Temple Station through Shing Mun River Bridge, move along the Che Kung Temple Road in the direction of Sha Tin Wai and enter the pedestrian tunnel. There are clear signs along the way leading you to Tsang Tai Uk. It will take around 10 to 15 minutes to arrive.

 

Tsang Tai Uk

Built by the Tsang family during the 19th century, Tsang Tai Uk is the largest existing Hakka walled village in Hong Kong. The exterior is like a fortress with three-storey high bunkers at the corners that serve as deterrents against thieves and robbers. This village is also one of the few well-preserved walled villages in Hong Kong which has high historical value.

 

Easy-to-Reach Index: star star star      
Barrier Free Index: star   
Recommendation Index: star star star  

Suggested Length of Stay:

Approx 15-30minutes

       

Tips:

There are limited attractions in Tsang Tai Uk as compared with other attractions. It is suggested to read the information board before entering for a better understanding of the history and architectural values of Tsang Tai Uk or you may be bored during the tour.

 

Comment:

On the right side of Tsang Tai Uk, at the entrance/exit with the name of “Fu An (Prosperity and Peace)”, there is a temporary ramp that allow wheelchair access. However this is a big ramp. In addition, there are gate fences at the ancestral hall which is not for wheelchair users. This affect the interest in visiting for wheelchair users.

There was a mobile accessible toilets next to the entrance on the day of visit. Wheelchair users can also use the accessible toilets at the Tsang Tai Uk Playground nearby.

 


Sha Kok/Pok Hong Estate Open-air street stall (Dai Pai Dong)

Sha Kok/Pok Hong Estate Open-air street stall (Dai Pai Dong)After leaving Tsang Tai Uk, you can get to MTR station by walking along Sha Kok Street in the direction of Sha Tin Wai Station. For those who like to have a taste of local cuisine, it’s a good idea to visit the open-air street stall at Sha Kok Estate next to Sha Kok Station or Pok Hong Estate. The price is very affordable with a wide range of food choices from small dishes, seafood to hot pots. Everyone can find one that suits your taste. It’s also popular around local residents. You will not want to miss it if you like to eat what the locals eat.

1. Visiting Information for HK Heritage Museum

Opening hours

Monday, Wednesday to Friday, and 

10:00am to 6:00pm

Saturday, Sunday and public holidays

10:00am to 7:00pm

X’mas Eve and Lunar new year eve

10:00am to 5:00pm

Closed on every Tuesday(except public holidays) & Lunar new year first and 2nd day

Entrance fees

Adults

$10

Students, disabled people(and one accompanying minder) and elderly

$5

Every Wednesday

free

2. Information for transportation at New Town Plaza:

(1) Tourists may leave at MTR Shatin Station.

(2) There are many bus routes available at Shatin Town Centre or Shatin Rail Station.

 

Buses at Shatin Rail Station

86K*

89X*

170*

263*

86S

 

 

 

 

Buses atShatinTownCentre

47X*

48X*

49X*

72*

81*

81K*

85*

88K*  

89*

269D*

283*

284*

299*

E42*

80M

82

282

 

* buses with low-floored facilities provided.

↑Go to top

網站主頁

> 文物探知線

> 沙田

沙田

沙田

無障礙指數

沙田,人口最多的新市鎮,區內大型商場每逢假日總是迫得水泄不通似的,但除了現代化的商場外,沙田區內的傳統寺廟、古老圍村等,都很值得我們花上一天的時間去遊覽。走進其中,可以感受到沙田區濃厚的文化氣息。

 

(最後更新日期: 2018年8月24日)

放大地圖

放大地圖

交通

港鐵        東鐵線車公廟站B出口(斜道)

車公廟

輪椅使用者於港鐵馬鞍山站B出口出站後,可使用行人隧道過對面馬路後,沿車公廟路往大圍方向走5分鐘,即可到達沙田車公廟。

車公廟據說建於明代,當時沙田一帶發生瘟疫,居民翻查古籍,認為宋代的車大元帥有平息瘟疫之威力,便依照古籍所言興建一座車公廟,瘟疫果然得以平息。自此每逢農曆正月初二的車公誕,車公廟定必香火鼎盛。而現有的車公廟是在1890 年代在明代興建的古廟前擴建而成的,現在有不少善男信女、中外遊客都會到此轉轉風車,祈求帶來好運。

易達指數: star star star      Accessible Toilet 設有暢通易達洗手間 
無障礙指數: star star star   
推介指數 : star star star                                                         

 遊覽時間:

 約15-30分鐘 

                                                    
地址:大圍車公廟路7

 

車公廟

車公廟

小貼士:

車公誕每年有四個,分別為「正月初二」、「三月廿七日」、「六月初六」及「八月十六日」;其中以正月的頭誕最為熱鬧,但不少市民為避「赤口」,多於「正月初三」前往車公廟參拜。

 

短評:

車公廟的正門及側門均有台階,輪椅使用者需要從後方供車輛進出的通道進入廟內,惟欠缺清晰指示。廟內有斜道供輪椅使用者走遍整間車公廟,以及是一般輪椅使用者較難進入的主殿。主殿兩側設有無障礙洗手間,惟巡查當天發現洗手間內雜物較多,如有需要,輪椅使用者亦可考慮廟外的球場另一殘疾人士洗手間。

 


城門河

城門河

遊覽完車公廟後,經隧道過對面馬路便會看到城門河。城門河全長7公里,由大圍作起點,河水經沙田流入吐露港。城門河河道寬闊,景色迷人。河道原意是把作排洪之用,但這條河同時亦是沙田區內熱門的康樂活動場地。河道兩岸建有緩跑徑和單車徑,許多人喜歡在河岸兩旁騎單車和慢跑。

香港文化博物館

香港文化博物館

在城門河對岸可以看到一座以中國傳統風格設計的大型建築物--「香港文化博物館」,輪椅使用者可以利用城門河上橋樑直接前往博物館。

 

香港文化博物館是一座綜合性博物館,館內包涵歷史、藝術和文化等元素。展館陳列面積達7,500平方米,是香港最大型的博物館,館內設有12個展覽場館,其中5個是常設展覽館包括金庸館、粵劇文物館、徐展堂中國藝術館、趙少昂藝術館及兒童探知館。其餘專題展覽館則會在不同時間推出不同的主題展覽,詳情可瀏覽文化博物館官方網頁。

易達指數: star star star star     Accessible Toilet 設有暢通易達洗手間 
無障礙指數: star star star star star  
推介指數 : star star star star star                                        

 遊覽時間:

 約2-3小時 

                                                    
地址:沙田文林路1

短評:

館內有升降機貫通全館,通道亦很寬闊,並設有殘疾人士洗手間,方便輪椅使用者參觀。

 

交通:

港鐵

(車公廟站)

A出口(輪椅使用者由B出口)出站後橫過城門河橋樑,步行約5分鐘便可到達

巴士

(文化博物館站)

巴士

路線起點 <-->終點

九巴

A41

機場← → 愉翠苑

E42

機場← → 博康

72A

大圍站← →大埔工業

80M

九龍塘鐵路站← →穗禾苑

86

美孚← →黃泥頭

89

觀塘站← →瀝源

282

沙田市中心← →新田圍

 



新城市廣場/史諾比開心世界

遊客離開博物館後,可朝著沙田公園方向往新城市廣場進發。遊客可利用沙田正街內的偉華中心的停車場升降機到達偉華商場,再沿天橋路徑,便可到達新城市廣場。由博物館前往廣場約10-15分鐘路程,沿途需走過行人隧道及橫過數段馬路,加上轉入沙田正街後行人較多,通道亦較窄,輪椅使用者要小心。

 

位於新城市廣場的史諾比開心世界,全年免費開放,是亞洲第一個以史諾比漫畫為主題的遊園地。史諾比開心世界設有60多個花生漫畫的人物雕塑,分佈在各個景區,喜歡史諾比的朋友不容錯過。園地內通道寬敞,惟部份設施因有梯級而不適合輪椅使用者使用。

 

地址:沙田沙田正街18號

 

 

 

曾大屋

 

曾大屋

若然對香港古老圍村有與趣,則要到訪香港現存最大的客家圍村--「曾大屋」。從香港文化博物館經城門河橋樑返回車公廟站,經車公廟道往沙田圍方向前行,進入行人隧道,沿路會有清晰指示指引往曾大屋,全程步行約10-15分鐘。

 

曾大屋

曾大屋於於19世紀由曾氏家族建造所建造,是香港現存最大的客家圍村,大屋的外形猶如一座堡壘,四角則設有三層高的碉堡,用作防禦盜賊之用。曾大屋是香港少數保存較好的圍村之一,極具歷史研究價值。

 

易達指數: star star star       
無障礙指數: star  
推介指數 : star star star                                               

 遊覽時間:

 約15-30分鐘 

                                                    


小貼士:與一般景點不同,由於曾大屋可以參觀的地方便不多,建議進入曾大屋前先閱覽門外資訊欄的景點簡介,了解曾大屋的歷史及建築價值,有助提高參觀時的趣味。

 

短評:

曾大屋右側「富安」進出口有臨時斜板可供輪椅使用者入來,惟要注意該斜道較為陡斜。另外,由於曾大屋祠堂有門欄,輪椅使用者無法入內參觀,大大減低了輪椅使用者的觀賞意欲。

到訪當天,曾大屋入口旁有流動殘疾人士洗手間。輪椅使用者亦可選擇到鄰近的曾大屋遊樂場的洗手間。


沙角/博康邨大牌檔

沙角/博康邨大牌檔

離開曾大屋後,沿沙角街往沙田圍站方向走約10分鐘,便可乘坐港鐵離開。不過,若對地道風味有興趣的朋友可以在離開前選擇到沙田圍站旁的沙角邨或博康邨大牌檔用膳。價錢大眾化,小菜、海鮮、火鍋齊集,總有一款啱口味。不少街坊都會特地慕名而來,喜歡地道風味的朋友必然要試一下。

1. 文化博物館參觀資料

開放時間

星期一、三至五

上午 10 時至下午 6 時

星期六、日及公眾假期

上午 10 時至下午 7 時

聖誕節前夕及農曆新年前夕

上午 10 時至下午 5 時

逢星期二(公眾假期除外)、農曆新年初一、初二休館

入場費

標準票(成人)

$10

學生、殘疾人士(及一名陪同者)及長者

$5

逢星期三

免費

2. 新城市廣場交通資料:

(1) 遊客可在於港鐵沙田站乘搭港鐵離開

(2) 有多條巴士路線可於沙田市中心或沙田鐵路站乘搭

 

沙田鐵路站巴士

86K*

89X*

170*

263*

86S

 

 

 

 

沙田市中心巴士

47X*

48X*

49X*

72*

81*

81K*

85*

88K*  

89*

269D*

283*

284*

299*

E42*

80M

82

282

 

* 有低地台巴士

↑回頁首