Home

> Ecology Line

> Shing Mun Reservoir

Shing Mun Reservoir

Shing Mun Reservoir

Barrier-free Index

Shing Mun Reservoir situated inside Shing Mun Country Park is familiar to Hong Kong people as one of the countryside with pleasant scenery, where butterfly lovers could admire various species of butterflies here.  Inside the country park are nature trail, barbecue site, and hiking trail, while transportation are considered convenient that lots of people would come for barbecuing and hiking on holidays. 

(Last updated: 23/5/2013)

Enlarge map

Enlarge map

Traffic

Bus Route

Origin

Alighting stop

KMB

36

TSUEN WAN WEST RAILWAY STATION BUS TERMINUS

Lei Muk Shue Estate

36B

Jordon (To Wah Road)

36M

KWAI FONG RAILWAY STATION BUS TERMINUS

32

OLYMPIC RAILWAY STATION

Ho Fung College

40X

WU KAI SHA RAILWAY STATION

46X

MEI FOO BUS TERMINUS

47X

CHUN SHEK BUS TERMINUS

48X

WO CHE BUS TERMINUS

73X

TSUEN WAN WEST RAILWAY STATION BUS TERMINUS

* Above bus routes are low-floor buses

Lei Muk Shue towards Entrance

Since only minibus could reach Shing Mun Country Park directly, so this route suggest wheelchair users first travel by bus alighting at Lei Muk Shue Estate or Ho Fung College to proceed to the entrance of the country park.  Visitors alighting at Lei Muk Shue Estate should go along Wo Yi Hop Road towards the direction of Shing Mun Reservoir till Ho Fung College, then turn into Shing Mun Road and proceed for about twenty to thirty minutes will arrive at the entrance of Shing Mun Country Park.  After turning intoShing Mun Road, pedestrian pavement will become narrower, while some crossings are without dropped kerb that wheelchair users have to use the carriageway at certain section of the road.

 

Short comment: Shing Mun Country Park is a hot spot for outing but could only be reached by minibus, which wheelchair users have to travel a long distance to reach.  Moreover, after turning into Shing Mun Road, facilities on road surface are severely insufficient, and along the way is quite a number of vehicle maintenance workshops, so wheelchair users on passing this road should pay extra attention on vehicles and road surface condition.

Shing Mun Country Park

When the red ‘Shing Mun Archway’ in shape of a city gate is seen, one has arrived at the entrance ofShingMunCountryPark.  At the entrance are kiosk and disabled washroom, and signage instructing visitors to different spots.  Destination of this route is the main dam of the reservoir, wheelchair users follow the direction of ‘Shing Mun Archway’ to proceed for about ten odd minutes will see the barbecue site, of which site 1 and site 4 are both suitable for the disabled.  Barbecue site 4 is equipped with disabled washroom and beverage vending machine which is convenient for visitors to refill beverage.  

 

Short comment: Although road surface of the section from the entrance towards the barbecue area are level, this section is also the carriageway without pedestrian pavement resulting in vehicles passing by frequently, and there are quite a number of bends, wheelchair users should not move too fast and should halt for a while at the bends to confirm no vehicles drive pass before proceed.

Barbecue Site 4

Barbecue site 4 is a venue suitable for wheelchair users, with wheelchair signs and ramps at the entrance. There are no steps inside the site, while height and design of barbecue pit are convenient for wheelchair users, together with disabled washroom, making a good place for wheelchair users to enjoy barbecuing.  

 

Short comment:  Although barbecue sites at the area are convenient for wheelchair users to enter, design of certain barbecue pits cannot be used by wheelchair users, which situation need to be improved. 

Main Dam

Follow the barbecue area to go ahead for ten odd minutes would see a gate, passing through which will arrive at the main dam, where one could enjoy the scenery of the whole reservoir. The whole dam is a level straight road where wheelchair users can move around at ease. The end of the main dam is connected with Shing Mun Jogging Trail, which route is quite winding and requires more than an hour to finish, so visitors should proceed according to their own strength.  Having toured the main dam, visitors may retrace the original route to return toWo Yi Hop Roador Lei Muk Shue Estate to leave.  

 

Short comment: Road from the barbecue area to the main dam is board and level while distance is not far away. However, one should note that there would be occasional emergence of monkey, which usually would not initiate an attack on visitors, whereas visitors should not feed them or let food be exposed to avoid such attack.

Visitors visiting Shing Mun Country Park on Saturday, Sunday and public holidays may tour the Shing Mun Country Park Visitor Centre at the entrance, which displays pictures and exhibits related to history of Shing Mun for visitors’ better understanding of the background information of Shing Mun Reservoir. 

 

Shing Mun Country Park Visitor Centre

Opening Days

Monday, Wednesday to Sunday and Public Holidays

Closed on Tuesdays (Except public holidays) and the first two days of the Chinese New Year

Opening Hours

9:30 am to 4:30 pm

Enquiry

2489 1362 / 1823

Website: www.afcd.gov.hk/english/country/cou_lea/cou_lea_ven/shingmun.html

Tips

This route takes about 45 minutes.  Visitors wishing to enjoy more of the scenery of the reservoir may on arriving the main dam continue to proceed along Shing Mun Jogging Trail, then connect to Wilson Trail 7 and Pineapple Nature Trail to complete one round of Shing Mun Reservoir, which exit is the starting point of this route.  However, this round takes three odd hours and with steps on a number of sections on the way is not suitable for wheelchair users.

↑Go to top

網站主頁

> 生態線

> 城門水塘

城門水塘

城門水塘

無障礙指數

城門水塘位於城門郊野公園內,是香港人熟悉的一個郊外地方之一。景色怡人,愛好蝴蝶的遊客可在此欣賞到多個品種的蝴蝶。郊野公園內有自然教育徑,燒烤場,亦有遠足徑,而且交通亦算便利,不少人在假日會到此燒烤遠足。 

 

這次介紹各位遊客遊覽的路線是由葵涌和宜合道作起點,經城門道到達郊野公園入口,再向燒烤場方向進發,最後到達城門水塘主壩。

 

(最後更新日期: 2022年1月20日)

放大地圖

放大地圖

交通

巴士路線 起點 下車點
九巴         36B 佐敦(西九龍站) 梨木樹巴士總站 
36M 葵芳站巴士總站
32 奧運鐵路站 可風中學      
36 荃灣西鐵路站
40X 烏溪沙鐵路站
46X 顯徑
47X 秦石
48X 禾輋
73X 富善

梨木樹往入口

由於只有小巴才能直達城門郊野公園,所以此路線建議輪椅使用者先乘巴士至梨木樹邨或可風中學下車,再前往郊野公園進出口處。如遊客在梨木樹邨下車,需沿和宜合道往城門水塘方向向上前行至可風中學,然後轉入城門道,再步行約 20 - 30 分鐘(約一公里)的上斜路段,便會到達城門郊野公園進出口。當轉入城門道後,行人路面會變得較窄,而多數過路處是沒有下斜路緣,輪椅使用者在這路段上有須要在車路上行走,務必留意交通情況。

 

短評:城門郊野公園為郊遊的熱門地點,但只有小巴才能到達,令輪椅使用者要走一段較長的路才能到達。加上轉入城門道後,行人路面設施嚴重不足,輪椅使用者有機會在車路上前行,且到達郊野公園入口前也沒有殘疾人士洗手間,故輪椅使用者行經此路時要多加留意駛經車輛和路面情況,並須考慮體力能否應付。

城門郊野公園

當見到城門形狀的紅色「城門牌坊」,便表示已到達城門郊野公園進出口處。該處設有小賣部和殘疾人士洗手間,並有指示牌指示遊人前往不同地點。本路線終點站為水塘主壩,輪椅使用者從「城門牌坊」方向出發,大約行走十多分鐘後便會看見燒烤場位置,其中 1 號和 4 號的燒烤場均適合殘疾人士使用。而 4 號燒烤場更設有殘疾人士洗手間和飲品售賣機,方便遊客補給飲料。

 

短評:由進出口處前往燒烤場的一段路面雖然平坦,但此段亦為行車路,並不設行人道,所以不時有車輛經過,加上彎位亦較多,輪椅使用者不宜行動過快,應在彎位處先稍停一下,確定沒有車輛駛過才繼續前進。

4 號燒烤場

4 號燒烤場是一個適合殘疾人士使用的場地,進出口處設有清楚的輪椅標誌和斜道,場內沒有梯級,燒烤爐的高度和設計亦很方便輪椅使用者,加上有殘疾人士洗手間設備,不失為輪椅使用者享受燒烤樂的好地方。

主壩

沿燒烤場往前再走,不用十分鐘便會看見一閘口,穿過閘口後便會到達城門水塘的主壩,在此可欣賞到整個水塘的景色,整條水霸為一平坦直路,輪椅使用者可輕鬆地走動。主壩盡頭連接城門緩跑徑,但走畢緩跑徑需時個多小時,而且路程較為曲折,遊客宜量力而為。遊客遊畢主壩後,便可依原路折返到和宜合道或梨木樹村離開。

 

短評:由燒烤場往主壩的路上都很平坦寬闊,而且路程亦不遠。可是要留意間中會有猴子出沒,猴子一般不會主動攻擊遊客,根據法例遊客不得餵飼牠們,也不宜將食物曝露,以免招來猴子的襲擊。

城門郊野公園遊客中心

如遊客於週六、日及公眾假期到訪城門郊野公園,可參觀位於進出口處的城門郊野公園遊客中心,中心內展出有關於城門的歷史圖片和展品,令遊客能進一步了解城門水塘的背景資料。

 

 開放日子 星期六、日 及 公眾假期
 開放時間  上午 9 時 30 分至下午 4 時 30 分
 查詢電話  2489 1362

網址:www.afcd.gov.hk/tc_chi/country/cou_lea/cou_lea_ven/shingmun.html

小心呀

此路線大約需時 45 分鐘,如遊客希望多欣賞水塘景色,在到達主壩後可繼續沿城門緩跑徑前行,再接衛奕信徑 7 段及菠蘿霸自然教育徑便可環繞城門水塘走一圈,而出口處就是此路線中的起點。但要環繞一圈需時要 3 個多小時,而且途中不少路段都有石級,不宜輪椅使用者行走。

↑回頁首