Home

> Leisure Line

> Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau

Barrier-free Index

Cheung Chau lies in the southwest of Hong Kong. The 3-sq-km island is also known as the ‘dumbbell island’ for its shape. Cheung Chau is attractive for its scenery, sound facilities and sightseeing spots such as the Pak Tai Temple and Tung Wan Beach. The pier area is the center of seafood restaurants and shops. What attracts local and overseas visitors most is the annual Bun Festival - the most important festival of the island. The following paragraphs will give an introduction of the famous sightseeing spots in Central Cheung Chu and its indigenous food.

(Last updated: 8/8/2018)

Enlarge map

Enlarge map

Traffic

1. To the pier

MTR:

Take the MTR to Central Station. Leave Exit A in a lift for the road, then take another lift next to it for the footbridge which leads to Outlying Islands Ferry Piers at Central following the signs along the way. The Cheung Chau-bound ferry departs from Pier No. 5.

 

Bus:

Take the bus

Bus Route  Origin <-> Destination
  Citybus   11  Jardine’s Lookout← →Piers at Central
12 Robinson Road← →Piers at Central
7 Shek Pai Wan← →Piers at Central
71 Wong Chuk Hang← →Central Wong Wo Street
   NWFB 25 Braemar Hill (Mid-levels)← →Piers at Central
91 Ap Lei Chau Estate← →Piers at Central
94 Lei Tung Estate← →Piers at Central

For enquiries of the low-floor bus frequency, please call the Citybus hotline at 2873 0818 or First Bus hotline at 2136 8888.

 

2. Take a ferry for Cheung Chau

Cheung Chau-bound ferries depart every 30 minutes. All sailings are wheelchair-friendly except the fast ferries with a high gangway. An ordinary ferry is suggested.

 

First Ferry
Tel: 2131 8181    Website: www.nwff.com.hk

  • Time Table:

www.nwff.com.hk/route/get_route.php?lang=en&id=75852f2a-6be6-49bc-bb7a-e9d31f46b41e&route_id=8&submenu_num=3

  • Fare Table:

www.nwff.com.hk/public/getitem.php?lang=en&id=31f723ba-6f6b-4291-baf0-7a1849317705&v=4&submenu_num=4

Cheung Chau Market Complex

On leaving the pier, walk rightwards and you can see the Cheung Chau Market Complex onTai Hing Tai Road. A ramped access is provided at the Complex’s Siu Sik Laneentrance; a disabled washroom stands next to it. The 3-storey Complex houses government offices and a wet goods market with more than 200 stalls including fresh seafood. The nearby restaurant would be glad to cook them for you.

 

Address:2 Tai Hing Tai Road, Cheung Chau

 

Accessible Toilet Accessible Toilet Provided

Tai Shek Hau Tin Hau Temple (Tin Hau Temple on Chung Hing Street)

Move along Tai Hing Tai Road and turn into Chung Hing San Street and you can reach the Tai Shek Hau Tin Hau Templeon Chung Hing Street. The two-door temple was built in unknown years, but a copper bell casted in the 37th year of Emperor Qianlong’s reign (1772) shows that it is at least 200 years old.

 

Comments: With stone steps at the temple entrance, wheelchair users can only admire it on the outside. A mobile ramped access is suggested.

 

Address: 20 & 21,Chung Hing St.,Cheung Chau

Tung Wan Beach

Move in the direction of the pier from Tin Hau Temple and you can reach Tung Wan Road which leads to Tung Wan Beach, the largest beach in Cheung Chau. Tung Wan Road is aligned with snack shops selling pastry, deep-fried food and sweet delicacies. Facilities in Tung Wan Beach include a disabled washroom and the Wind surfing Memorial Garden adjacent to Tung Wan.

 

Address: Cheung Chau Beach Rd.

 

Accessible Toilet Accessible Toilet Provided

Yuk Hui Temple (Pak Tai Temple)

Pak Tai Templeis the most famous temple in Cheung Chau. Built more than 200 years ago in the 48th year of Emperor Qianlong’s reign (1783), it is listed as a Grade 1 historic building by the Antiquities and Monuments Office. The temple is mainly devoted to Pak Tai, but also worships Tai Sui, Guanyin and a number of saints. Pak Tai is also known as Yuen Tin Sheung Tai. When his birthday is celebrated on the third day of the third Lunar month, faithful worshippers will come and pray for the island’s safety. A disabled washroom is provided on the Pak Tai Temple Playground in the temple’s foreground.

 

Comments: The Pak Tai Temple is only accessible by stairs, wheelchair users can only admire it on the outside. A combined ramped access which meets wheelchair users’ needs without damaging the historic building’s look is suggested.

 

Address: Pak She Street, Cheung Chau

Pak She/San Hing Praya Street

The Praya Street is the shopping and food centre. Most of the shops are wheelchair-inaccessible due to stairs at the entrance, but wheelchair users can still buy souvenirs from the stalls outside. The catering outlets’ outdoor seating is an ideal place for them to enjoy the island’s indigenous food.

Bun Festival

The Bun Festival held on the eighth day of the fourth Lunar month is a grand annual event in Cheung Chau. The festival is named after the bun towers erected in thePak Tai Temple’s foreground. Piu Sik Parade and Bun Scrambling are the key festive events. In the Piu Sik Parade, children on float personating ancient and contemporary figures are paraded through the streets amid lion and qilin dance. The Bun Scrambling is a competition with a long history. It has once been prohibited after an accident in 1978. In the accident, a bamboo scaffold-supported bun tower collapsed and caused heavy casualty. The competition was not resumed until 2005 with government approval.

 

Related webpage: Hong Kong Tourism Board - Cheung Chau Bun Festival   http://www.discoverhongkong.com/eng/see-do/events-festivals/chinese-festivals/cheung-chau-bun-festival.jsp

Holiday resort

Many holiday resorts, mostly villas, are available for lease in Cheung Chau. As most of them are on the 2nd floor, wheelchair users are suggested to check if they meet their needs beforehand.

Tips

Other sightseeing spots in Cheung Chau include theCheungPoTsaiCaveand Cheung Chau Rock Carvings. But, most of them are situated at sites too rugged for the disabled. To save time and journey, you are suggested to plan your itinerary according to your own preference and physical status beforehand.

↑Go to top

網站主頁

> 消閒玩樂線

> 長洲

長洲

長洲

無障礙指數

長洲位於香港西南面,面積約3 平方公里的島嶼,因其形狀似啞鈴,故又有「啞鈴島」的稱呼。長洲環境優美,設施齊備,擁有不少著名的旅遊名勝,如北帝廟和東灣海灘等,使長洲成為香港著名的旅遊景點之一。碼頭沿岸一帶海鮮食肆及商舖林立,非常繁華。此外,長洲每年所舉辦的太平清醮活動,是島上最重要的傳統節目,每次均吸引大批中、外遊客慕名前來參觀。本路線主要為大家介紹長洲中部的著名景點及地道美食。

 

(最後更新日期: 2018年8月8日)

放大地圖

放大地圖

交通

1. 前往碼頭

港鐵:

乘坐港鐵到中環站,從A進出口乘升降機前往/到達地面,再轉乘旁邊的升降機上天橋,再跟著指示牌方向前往中環港外線碼頭。前往長洲的渡輪位於中環港外線5 號碼頭。

巴士:

遊客亦可乘坐巴士前往中環碼頭

  路線 起點 ← → 終點
城巴 11  渣甸山 ← → 中環碼頭
12  羅便臣道 ← → 中環碼頭
7  石排灣 ← → 中環碼頭
71  黃竹坑 ← → 中環 (永和街)

新巴

25 寶馬山(半山區) ← → 中環碼頭
91  鴨脷洲邨 ← → 中環碼頭
94  利東邨 ← → 中環碼頭

 

2. 乘坐渡輪前往長洲

長洲渡輪班次頻繁,相隔約30 分鐘一班。輪椅使用者可乘坐所有航班,惟高速船的跳板較高,建議輪椅使用者乘坐普通渡輪前往長洲。

 

新世界第一渡輪服務有限公司
電話: 2131 8181    網址: www.nwff.com.hk

  • 船期表:

www.nwff.com.hk/route/get_route.php?lang=zh-hk&id=75852f2a-6be6-49bc-bb7a-e9d31f46b41e&route_id=8&submenu_num=3

  • 船費表:

www.nwff.com.hk/public/getitem.php?lang=zh-hk&id=31f723ba-6f6b-4291-baf0-7a1849317705&v=4&submenu_num=4

長洲綜合大樓

遊客離開碼頭後往右走,便可看到位於大興堤路的長洲綜合大樓。輪椅使用者可從小食里的斜道進入大樓,而在該進出口外設有殘疾人士洗手間供殘疾人士使用。綜合大樓分為三層,一部分為政府辦事處,另一部分為濕貨市場。市場內匯集了逾200個攤販, 販售不同產品,旅客可在此選購鮮活海產,然後交給鄰近的餐館料理。

 

地址:長洲大興堤路2號 

 

Accessible Toilet 設有暢通易達洗手間 

大石口天后宮(中興街天后宮)

沿著大興提路往前走,再轉入中興新街,便可到達位於中興街的大石口天后宮,廟宇屬兩進式設計,興建年份不詳,但廟內有一口乾隆三十七年 (1772年) 鑄的銅鐘,故該座廟宇至少有二百多年歷史。

 

短評:天后宮門前有石階,輪椅使用者只能在門外參觀,建議有關方面增設活動斜板方便有需要人士。

 

地址:長洲中興街20及21號

東灣海灘

離開天后宮往碼頭方向折返,便會到達東灣路。東灣路是前往東灣途經之路,東灣路兩旁設有不少小食店,售賣各式各樣的糕點、炸物、甜食,令人食指大動。沿著東灣路一直走便可到達東灣海灘,東灣是長洲最大的海灘,此海灘設有殘疾人士洗手間,遊客亦可到東灣旁的滑浪風帆紀念公園參觀。

 

地址:長洲東堤路

 

Accessible Toilet 設有暢通易達洗手間  

玉虛宮(北帝廟)

北帝廟是長洲最著名的廟宇,建於乾隆四十八年(1783 年),有二百多年歷史,獲古物諮詢委員會評定為一級歷史建築物。廟內供奉的主神北帝,又名玄天上帝,每年的農曆三月初三,是北帝誕,善信會前來均虔誠敬拜,祈求合境平安。除北帝外,廟內亦供奉太歲、觀音及列聖。於北帝廟前北帝廟遊樂場旁設有殘疾人士洗手間供有需要人士使用。

 

短評:北帝廟前只有梯級,輪椅使用者只能從遠處觀賞,建議有關方面增設可供輪椅使用者進出的組合式斜道,一方面不會破壞歷史建築物的外貌,另一方面可方便輪椅使用者參觀。

 

地址:長洲北社街北帝廟

北社/新興海傍路

海傍路一帶匯聚了不少商店及中西食肆,惟大多設有梯級,輪椅使用者難以進出。不過,由於大部份商戶均會把貨物擺放到商舖外面擺賣,故此輪椅使用者仍可盡情購買手信。輪椅使用者亦可在餐館的露天座位一面欣賞海景,一面享用具長洲風味的地道美食。

太平清醮

太平清醮是長洲一年一度的盛大節日,舉行日期為每年的農曆四月初八,遊客大可選擇在以上日子到訪長洲感受一下節日的氣氛。太平清醮的焦點是北帝廟前三個用竹棚搭成、掛滿平安包的包山,因此太平清醮又名為「包山節」。長洲太平清醮兩項主要活動分別為飄色巡遊和搶包山,在飄色巡遊中,小孩裝扮成古今人物或傳說中的角色,站在支架上與醒獅及麒麟隊等在島上巡遊。而搶包山則是另一悠久歷史的活動,參賽者會爬上包山,盡他們所能搶奪包子,但自從1978年發生包山倒塌意外造成多人受傷後,搶包山活動一直被禁,直至2005 年才獲香港政府批准重辦。

 

相關網頁:香港旅遊發展局-長洲太平清醮

www.discoverhongkong.com/tc/see-do/events-festivals/chinese-festivals/cheung-chau-bun-festival.jsp

渡假屋

長洲有不少渡假屋出租,但多以別墅形式出租,房間多設在二樓,輪椅使用者如選擇投宿時,宜先觀察房間的設備是否合適。

小心呀

長洲其實還有很多的旅遊名勝,如張保仔洞和長洲石刻等,惟大多位於崎嶇山路,不太適合殘疾人士前往,建議各位出發前按照個人喜好及身體狀況預先計劃行程,以減省不必要的行程和時間。

↑回頁首